McKoy and Ruggiero Headline the Inaugural 2013 MASCAC Football All-Conference Team

All-Conference Release

WESTFIELD, Mass. – Western Connecticut State running back Octavias McKoy and Bridgewater State defensive lineman Rob Ruggiero are the 2013 inaugural Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference Football Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year honorees and headline the All-Conference team, which is voted on by the coaches from around the conference.

Helping the Colonials to a second place finish in the regular season, McKoy was named the 2013 MASCAC Offensive Player of the Year. The senior from Stratford, Conn. led the MASCAC in yards per game with 190.6 and touchdowns with 26. 

Having been named the MASCAC Offensive Player of the Week three times this season, McKoy also earned the prestigious New England Football Writers Association Gold Helmet award twice. The second of his two Gold helmet honors was after an outstanding 455 yards rushing and five touchdowns, which put him second on the all-time list for most rushing yards in a single game across all NCAA divisions.

Ruggiero earned the MASCAC Defensive Player of the Year honors after leading the MASCAC in number of total sacks on the season with 12. He also finished the year with two fumble recoveries and 33 solo tackles, including 23.5 tackles for a loss. Ruggiero earned MASCAC Defensive Player of the Week honors after notching three sacks, four solo tackles and forcing a fumble which he recovered.

Garrett Dellechiaie of Fitchburg State was named the 2013 MASCAC Offensive Rookie of the Year. The freshman quarterback from Leominster, Mass. had a breakout season for the Falcons, passing for 25 touchdowns and averaging 193 yards per game. In the final game of the year for Fitchburg State, he became their single season touchdown leader on his way to being named the MASCAC Rookie of the Week for the second time this season.

Western Connecticut State's Devante Credle was tabbed as the 2013 Defensive Rookie of the Year. The West Haven, Conn. defensive back completed his freshman campaign with 26 solo tackles including six for a loss and an interception. Credle earned MASCAC Rookie of the Week honors after collecting nine solo tackles, including three for a loss of yardage.

Chosen by his fellow coaches from around the conference, Pat Haverty of Fitchburg State was named the 2013 Champion's Choice Coach of the Year. At the helm for the Falcons, the team finished with a 6-4 record and 5-3 overall in the conference.

The Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference, the nation's first Division III men's and women's playing conference, has a rich and storied tradition of competitive success while celebrating excellence in the classroom. MASCAC core member schools include Bridgewater State University, Fitchburg State University, Framingham State University, MCLA, Massachusetts Maritime Academy, Salem State University, Westfield State University and Worcester State University. Two other institutions, the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and Plymouth State University, are affiliate members of the conference in the sports of football and men's ice hockey, while Western Connecticut State University joined the conference as an affiliate member in football beginning in 2013-14.