Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Fitchburg State Wins 2015 MASCAC Men's Cross Country Championship

Fitchburg State Wins 2015 MASCAC Men's Cross Country Championship


PAXTON, Mass. -- The Fitchburg State Falcons earn the Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference Men's Cross Country Championship on Saturday at the MASCAC Championship hosted by Worcester State. 

The Falcons won their first conference title since the 2008 season by collecting 24 points over runner-up Westfield State with 41 points. Bridgewater State was next in third with 78 points while Massachusetts Maritime claimed fourth with 122 points. Landing in fifth with 127 points is Worcester State. MCLA and Framingham State rounded out the field in sixth and seventh with 148 and 215 points, respectively.

Taking home the MASCAC Runner of the Year honors is Mike Skelly of Westfield State who finished with a top 8k time of 26:35. Joining teammate Skelly as a member of the MASCAC All-Conference squad are Derik Noland who finished fifth in a time of 27:32 and Christopher Williams in 10th in a time of 28:13. 

Fitchburg State finished with five runners in the top 10 to earn All-Conference accolades. Freshman Anthony Darrigo was the top first-time performer to cross to take home MASCAC Rookie of the Year honors with a time of 27:51, good enough for sixth. Teammate Eric Ouellette was second with a time of 26:38 with Jake Hastings and Brian Amaral next in third and fourth with a time of 26:47 and 27:10, respectively. Joseph Darrigo rounded out the Falcons top finishers in ninth place, covering the course in 28:05.

Jake MacVarish of Massachusetts Maritime finished with a time of 27:58 which was good enough for seventh place. Bridgewater State's Justin Lucier closed out the All-Conference winners with a time of 28:03 for eighth place.

Jim Jellison of Fitchburg State was named the Champion's Choice Men's Cross Country Coach of the Year as voted on by his fellow coaches after leading the team to the championship.