Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Westfield State Wins the 2016 MASCAC Men's Cross Country Title

Westfield State Wins the 2016 MASCAC Men's Cross Country Title


LEOMINSTER, Mass. - The Westfield State Owls men's cross country team has claimed the 2016 Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference Championship on Saturday at the league meet hosted by Fitchburg State. 

The Owls earned the team title with 34 points while runner-up Fitchburg State was next with 50 points. Bridgewater State finished in third with 62 points followed by Worcester State with 92 points. Massachusetts Maritime landed in fifth with 144 points while Framingham State and MCLA rounded out the team standings in sixth and seventh with 186 and 201 points, respectively. 

Jake Hastings of Fitchburg State took home the 2016 MASCAC Runner of the Year honors as the top overall individual finisher with an 8k time of 26:02. Joining Hastings as a member of the All-Conference team are teammates Anthony Darrigo in seventh (26:36), Brian Amaral in ninth (26:54) and Joseph Darrigo in 10th (26:55). 

Earning the 2016 MASCAC Rookie of the Year accolade was Trevor Wysong of Bridgewater State with an 8k time of 26:33, good enough for fourth. Joe Keough grabbed a spot on the All-Conference team along with Wyson with an eighth place time of 26:41.

Finishing with three runners in the top 10, Westfield State's Derik Noland was the top finisher for the Owls crossing the line second with a time of 26:15. Tim Forrest was right behind in third with a time of 26:26 while Patrick Brett finished sixth in a time of 26:35.

Rounding out the All-Conference honorees was Devin Luce of Worcester State. His 8k time of 26:34 was good enough for fifth to earn him a spot on the squad. 

Westfield State's Bill Devine was named the 2016 Champion's Choice Men's Cross Country Coach of the Year as voted on by his peers for leading the Owls to the 2016 title.